The Shepherd

Sheep herder.
Sheep. Herd.
Shepherd.

Amazing how lazy the English language can be.

Today we got into a fight with remote repairing Tristans with armour logi support. We had more numbers and destroyers, so I was confident.

Some of my fleet, though, were not, and made their concerns apparent before the fight.

Well, we ended up winning, and that doubt initially was what made me think about today’s post.

I am a great believer that if you don’t take the fight, even if the odds are stacked against you, you’ll never truly learn. You can run from all the fights you think you’ll lose, and you’ll end up losing fights you thought you’d win. Why?

It comes down to experience and by extension, confidence. Too often have I seen people choose to run as their first option when the going looks grim, and then wonder why they’re bored.

I’m digressing a bit, but I just wanted to make it clear that there are benefits to taking the harder fights. You can theory craft the ship all you like, until you take it for a spin and lose it you’ll never understand its true capabilities.

Or more importantly, YOUR true capabilities. The ship is the sheep, you’re the shepherd. And you’ll never understand your sheep until they die.

Wow, it’s bad analogy hour. Apologies, it’s late, I’ve had a long day, I’m bracing for a long day after a few hours too little of sleep I’ll get after this post, and I just had to get a post out. Funny how holidays and free time lead to less post frequency. I’m just always doing other things.

Anyway, for one it’s important for the pilot to understand his ship.

On the next level though, the FC must understand his fleet.

A shepherd may be inspired by God Herself (okay, this is a random shout out to some random Amarrian whose name made me blink and laugh at how simple yet profound it was), but that doesn’t mean anything if you can’t communicate your inspiration to your flock.

Again, here it is a matter of confidence. If you’ve never taken a similar fight, you’re more doubtful of your fleet being able to fight, and in the end you’re more likely to bail, which in essence means you’re more likely to give up on valuable experience for future fleets.

I’ve rambled on about this in various ways in various posts. I’m getting that weird deja vu feeling I get when I repeat myself.

We’ve recently had lots of good fights in our kitchen sink fleets. I’ve been whelping us but also getting some amazing kills. My kill board shows some of that if you’re interested.

But the amazing thing is, as time goes on our pilots are only gaining SP. Gaining SP as I lead them to fights where they push their piloting skills to the limit. A great improvement in our fleets is keeping DPS on the primary. Also, learning the importance of having points and being able to tackle targets to apply damage. Still not perfect but greatly improved from what I saw a month ago (I’ve been back in FW for 4 months already jeez). Once again though, this is a matter of FC and fleet confidence and trust.

God there’s just so much to talk about with this topic. I’ve said this before too, but fleet are an amazing social experience, one of if not the greatest in EVE.

What I was leading to with this is that I can’t wait to see what our pilots are capable of when we hit that SP sweet spot where everyone has a bit of ability to upship.

Effectiveness in PvP is determined by player experience and SP. While the Amarr upship ridiculously and deny themselves from getting any experience by hiding from good fights entirely, we’re building up both pillars necessary to become strong, confident shepherds of our ships and our fleets.

I love rereading my posts and scrolling through the optimistic ones like this, then the depressing ones after I lose a particularly large number of fights in a day.

I'm just a poor boy, but I'd like some commentary~

