More decisions!

I’ve witnessed what the Russians can bring to the field. They’re happy to bring capitals, and HACs, and T2 logistics. Why is it that everyone else can’t do the same?

I’ve run straight into an SP barrier. I call for cruisers, and people ask if they can bring stealth bombers and frigates. It’s not even because they don’t want to lose cruisers, it’s because they simply can’t fly them yet.

So I have two choices.

1) Run frigate/destroyer fleets, keep plexing up the warzone, and let others with the big ships bash hubs.

OR.

2) Run more cruiser fleets, leave out the newbies, and force them to skill into cruisers to join us.

Option 1 is tempting. I enjoy running fleets of frigates/destroyers, the fights you can get are great, you stay under the radar from those looking to hotdrop things, and it’s newbie-friendly…

And yet… I wonder whether I’m being too nice to the newbies. I am reminded of a quote from the movie Remember the Titans.

Coach Boone:
Now I may be a mean cuss. But I’m the same mean cuss with everybody out there on that football field. I don’t give a damn about how sensitive these kids are, especially the black kids. You ain’t doin’ these kids a favor by patronizing them. You crippling them; You crippling them for life.

People have been telling me that it’s nice I try to offer SRP, but I shouldn’t be coddling my fleet members, as it will only make it harder for them to accept the harshness of EVE Online and the cold universe of New Eden.

The thing is, if I run fleets involving small ships, people will prefer to train for those instead. They won’t even try to reach T1 cruisers, where I believe we can make the magic happen. I was lucky, when I started. My eyes were immediately set on the Vexor. I feel like I was very lucky starting off in EVE, to have a cruiser as a goal. Being able to fly a cruiser well, then moving back into training frigates, worked much better than I would’ve thought, and this method of training I will try to remember to teach more newbies. I got Gallente Cruiser V within my first few months of playing, before even Gallente Frigate V, and to be honest, as I was learning how the game worked, having such a long skill in the queue let me think hard about where I wanted to go in those early days.

So I activated the Quafe Megathron skin I got from EveDownUnder... ♥
So I activated the Quafe Megathron skin I got from EveDownUnder… ♥

So, back to running frigate fleets. Is this crippling my militia members? I’m trying to think about it in terms of  being in a warzone, but as a warzone inside a game. Fun has to be the main factor here, and I also want to ensure I’m having fun myself. But we are at war. There are enemies that we have to shoot, whether we like it or not. And so it comes down to, how well do we want to shoot them? And of course, I’d respond: “very well, and with lots of fun!”

And if that is my answer, then progression involves bringing everyone up to the same page, ship type-wise. And that means cruisers, T1, at least.

And that means flying cruiser fleets. And that means fighting cruiser gangs.

It’s hard to imagine the outcome. But I guess sometimes, you just don’t need to imagine it, and just go for it. Sometimes, it takes a measure of strength and courage, even in a game, to have the most fun. If you don’t work hard, you will NEVER play hard. Not because working hard gives you the means to play hard. It’s because even if you DID have the means to play hard, it’s not play without work. This idea is one I have to keep telling myself. So abstract, so slippery and difficult to pin down, yet so vital, for everything. I can’t have it all without some hard work. I personally have difficulty grasping this concept.

In the end, if our militia isn’t forced to train for cruisers, they’ll be stuck in a rut of frigate/destroyer kitchen sinks until they burn out or leave militia for something else. I can’t let that happen either. There are enough FCs willing to run the small fleets. It’s time to step out of the comfort zone a little. I will start, of course, by doing some crazy solo cruiser action. It comes back to leading by example. I need to show them what’s possible, before they realise they can achieve the same.

4 thoughts on “More decisions!”

  1. This is similar to what my alliance had dealt with. The SP barrier is an issue but can be overcome. We fly T1 cruisers quite alot but at first not everyone could fly them effectively. What we did was come up with a training plan that stepped people into our primary cruiser doctrine. It was important to show people the reasoning behind the training plan on how each step built on the previous one. Also it was important to not leave people out. Can’t fly the vexor fit yet? Come along and bring your destroyer fit. We’d rather have that one dude in a thrasher than not have him at all.

    1. Agreed, I won’t absolutely say no to people who can only bring a smaller ship, but I’m just going to be a little more pushy about getting people into bigger ships.

  2. Spot on. Cruisers are currently strong. Getting everything up to IV should not be that hard to achieve.

    The only real downside is the cost of cruisers vs frigates if you lose a couple of them a night.

    For a very new newbie this might add up, but if multiple reship type fights are happening it should be ok to downship to frigates…

    1. ISK is always an issue, but we also have the benefit of T4 warzone control currently, which means even the newbies should be making a substantial amount of profit. The only problem there is, people are starting to become more concerned with making ISK than participating in the final push to victory.

I'm just a poor boy, but I'd like some commentary~

