Initiative

EVE is a blank slate, a microcosm of society, if you will. Except it’s a lot more susceptible than we think.

Do not underestimate how much you can influence the actions of others, if you wish to.

Today’s story begins with another lovely chat I had with the inhabitants of Sugar Kyle’s Spoonful of Sugar channel, a great start to a particularly bad day at university, but lets not spoil it from the get-go.

We chatted about a lot of things, in fact, I have two other draft posts spawned from ideas from that chat, and this one was something I was reminded to post after discussing… things (trying to refrain from spoilers!).

You see, a couple of days ago, someone mailed me to be their FC ‘mentor’. Tutor, teacher, sensei, master… you get it. It was interesting because I never thought I was knowledgeable enough to teach others how to FC; hell, I still struggle with solo PvP. As for my personality, whenever I tell people I’m shy, they laugh and tell me I’m not. I have come to realise that ‘shy’ is the wrong word. Introverted, I am. I may not have trouble interacting with other people initially, but drag out the encounter, and force me to say more than I would like to say, and you will come to a barrier behind which there is my scattered thoughts, crazy visions, random strains of memory, all spinning around in a dark fog inside my skull. And if you force me to tap into that to continue a conversation, well, the conversation goes places no normal social being should go.

You see, most people seem to be able to separate themselves from their inner thoughts to have a normal conversation with other people. I can’t. Things in my head get in the way, and I can’t keep it in check.

Speaking of which, there it went again. Where was I? Oh yes, someone was talking to me about teaching them how to FC. And I, having no reason to believe my FC prowess (more like lack thereof) had something to do with it, went searching for another reason.

And it hit me. Or maybe I hit it? I’m not sure who took the initiative. See what I did there? No? Well, it is a bit of a stretch.

Initiative.

It’s that simple. I learnt this a long time ago, from a guy in my first corporation. He used to log in, and every time, he’d say hi to everyone. He had everyone active in corp, in his watchlist, and he’d have your hi ready as soon as your chat loaded. Overkill? Perhaps. But one guy made that chat seem so much more active. It’s not that you’re disturbing people who don’t want to chat, it’s more like you’re encouraging people who have something on their minds to share it.

Every. Single. Time.

And I learnt that sometimes, people are just waiting for you to say something before they start.

Extending this to fleets, I’ve noticed it takes ages for a fleet to initially gain members, but once it hits around 10 people, people start flooding in. Why? They know something will probably happen.

People want things to happen, they just don’t want to wait around for it. Instant gratification. Welcome to the twenty-first century… bleh.

But the initial barrier, whether it be starting a conversation off in a chat box, or getting a fleet to that critical point for more people to just flood in, someone has to scale that wall.

Will it be you?

I gave it a go, and someone asked me for guidance in FCing. The guy mistook my stab of initiative for FC skill. And I’ve witnessed this in other ways. People talk a lot about PvP experiences, and people flood to them, asking them to teach others how to PvP. Like I said before, yes I’ve done FC work but surely not enough to be teaching people. But just by giving it a go instead of just talking about it all day, suddenly, progress is made.

3 thoughts on “Initiative”

  1. Wow, I’ve moved up from denizen to inhabitant! I’m no longer a skulker!

    ehem

    I think this is a good analysis of inertia in disorganised groups, and I think it extends beyond FW and into some pirate corporations also. (My own included.) People don’t like sitting around, so there’s a limited ‘time to form’, before people start leaving. People don’t play EVE to wait.

    As for ‘scaling the wall’, here’s what I recommend:

    1) Build your own reputation. People will begin to look forwards to your fleets, and will more readily be persuaded to join you. They may even bring their friends along too!

    2) Get a revolutionary vanguard to seize the means of production..

    Get a core group together to hit that critical mass faster. If you can get 6 or 7 regular people, then the threshold is so much easier to achieve. Try to take a personal interest, or watch-list them to rope them in quicker. That way, you develop a skilled core of PVPers that can provide a good training atmosphere for new players.

    Rob K.

    (Here’s hoping that the html works, and it doesn’t look too silly ๐Ÿ™‚ )

    1. ๐Ÿ™‚ Good tips. Particularly number two. I actually had an urge to make a new corporation in MINFW called The Vanguard. Back when I was told to drop the fleet I was leading because WMTR. was in it. Sour memories.

I'm just a poor boy, but I'd like some commentary~

