Unpredictability: A Series of Unconventional Fits

One of the reasons PvP in EVE is so satisfying is that the preparation is so complex and finding a good fight can be so tedious that when it does occur, it is just that much more awesome.

Preparation is something I’ve been considering a lot lately, even though I haven’t been putting it into action. Our fleets have very minimal requirements to partake in, something we believe is necessary for now to encourage maximum participation. This leads to possible holes or weaknesses in our compositions that could lead to failcascades should we come across the wrong fleet at the wrong time.

I commute to university most days, and most of that transition time is spent pondering doctrines for my fleet. I’ve gotten pretty good at it, and I have a fairly extensive personal EFT in my head if I concentrate hard enough. Pondering for the days when we have access to resources to field fleets that are more than a ‘glorified kitchen sink’.

My pondering, though, does get sidetracked a little, but that’s when it gets really good.

Lets take a look at a fit I’ve put together on EFT.

[Guardian, THE TRUE]
Damage Control II
Beta Reactor Control: Diagnostic System I
Beta Reactor Control: Diagnostic System I
Energized Adaptive Nano Membrane II
Energized Adaptive Nano Membrane II

Medium Electrochemical Capacitor Booster I, Navy Cap Booster 800
Experimental 10MN Afterburner I

Large ‘Solace’ Remote Armor Repairer
Large ‘Solace’ Remote Armor Repairer
Large ‘Solace’ Remote Armor Repairer
Large ‘Solace’ Remote Armor Repairer
Large ‘Solace’ Remote Armor Repairer
Large ‘Solace’ Remote Armor Repairer

Medium Remote Repair Augmentor II
Medium Remote Repair Augmentor II

Light Armor Maintenance Bot II x5

Obviously this is not an optimal Guardian fit by any means.

I however see a self-sufficient capacitor, with 500 raw HP repaired per second including drones, meaning that it would take 1000DPS on a 49.9% resistance to break through one of these logistics ships.

You could say it is pointless because the enemy could switch easily to your logistics and find that it’s absolutely untanked; enough alpha would turn its 500hp/s to an expensive T2 wreck.

To that I say, but what if there was a scenario where a regular cap-chaining guardian was inadequate?

This Guardian has double the amount of repairers a tanked Guardian does, sacrificing that tank to get raw repping power. It also has no offensive capabilities. If I am not mistaken, this means that on a gate camp there is no way for it to draw gate/station gun aggro if it’s simply repairing people.

Cap-chaining allows a Guardian to forsake capacitor modules in its lows, as well as Remote Repair Augmentor rigs, to acquire near impenetrability with combined buffer and resists. But when there is no need for tank, then why cap chain at all?

Unpredictable preparation. I want to lead fleets that enemies simply do not expect. If our fleet composition is half the battle, then I don’t want the enemies to know half our battle. The challenge is making sure that that half is worth the enemy knowing – that is, worth me concealing. Take the Guardians for example. There is no point having a fit like this if my logistics are going to land right in the optimal ranges of the enemy.

Manipulating a situation to find the optimal engagement for a fleet with a trump card like 6-rep Guardians, that’s what I want to be able to do.

This may develop into, as suggested by the post title, a series of fits that I concoct from the wildest depths of my imagination. Perhaps I should include a warning for EFT warriors with heart conditions for the next few? šŸ˜›

 

2 thoughts on “Unpredictability: A Series of Unconventional Fits”

  1. Interesting fit. I don’t get how adding 2 remote reppers makes it provide double the repping power, though? I fly a standard 4/2 guardian and it works quite well with a chain.

    Also, this fit seems to be stable only so long as it has cap booster charges. I assume this plan for this fit assumes the standard PVP doesn’t last more then 5 minutes scenario?

  2. Hm. I can’t remember why I thought it was double the repping power either. 1.5x is right.

    The cap boosters do put a time limit on it’s usefulness. But I generally find a fight can well be decided in the first few frantic minutes, and I’m always looking for ways to get an edge in that initial engagement.

I'm just a poor boy, but I'd like some commentary~

